CIDER Logo

CIDER 2012 Summer Program

"Deep Time: How did early Earth become our modern world?"

July 1 - August 10, 2012, KITP, Santa Barbara (CA)

Overview

News and Announcements

Structure

CIDER development timeline

CIDER wiki

Upcoming Meetings:
- 2016 CIDER pre-AGU workshop
- 2017 CIDER summer program

Current Meetings:

Past Meetings:
- 2016 CIDER summer program

- 2016 CIDER community workshop
- 2015 CIDER pre-AGU workshop
- 2015 Summer Program
- 2015 DCO workshop
- 2014 pre-AGU workshop
- 2014 Summer Program
- 2013 Post-AGU Workshop
- 2013 Summer Program
- 2012 Post-AGU workshop
- 2012 Summer Program
- 2011 Post-AGU Workshop
- 2011 Summer Program
- 2011 Imaging Workshop
- 2010 Summer Program
- 2010 SEDI conference
- 2009 Workshop at Marconi Center
- 2008 Summer Program
- 2006 Summer Program
- 2004 Summer Program
- 2003 Workshop

CIDER Bibliography in progress

Agenda & Video, Logistics, Participants, Travel Reimbursements, Announcements

*****************************************************************************************

CIDER 2012 Tutorial Participants

2012 SUMMER CIDER PROGRAM

    LECTURERS    
         
Prof. Bruce Buffett Geodynamics University of California, Berkeley bbuffett AT berkeley DOT edu

7/14-8/10

Prof. Razvan Caracas Computational Mineral Physics, High Pressure CNRS, Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon razvan.caracas AT ens-lyon DOT fr 7/16-7/27
Dr. Rick Carlson Geochemistry Carnegie Institution of Washington rcarlson AT ciw DOT edu 7/15-8/3
Prof. Edward (Ed) Garnero Seismology Arizona State University garnero AT asu DOT edu 7/13-8/10
Prof. Mark Harrison Geochemistry University of California, Los Angeles tmark.harrison AT gmail DOT com 7/15 - 7/28
Prof. Marc Hirschmann Mineral Physics University of Minnesota mmh AT umn DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Prof. Louise Kellogg Geodynamics University of California, Davis lhkellogg AT ucdavis DOT edu 7/15-7/28
Dr. Gabi Laske Geochemistry University of California, San Diego / IGPP/ Scripps glaske AT ucsd DOT edu 7/15-7/28
Prof. Jie (Jackie) Li Mineral Physics University of Michigan jackieli AT umich DOT edu 7/15-7/28
Prof. Michael Manga Geodynamics University of California, Berkeley manga AT seismo DOT berkeley DOT edu 7/7-7/28
Prof. William (Bill) McDonough Geochemistry University of Maryland mcdonoug AT geol DOT umd DOT edu

7/15-7/28

Prof. Sujoy Mukhopadhyay Geochemistry Harvard University sujoy AT eps DOT harvard DOT edu 7/7-7/29
Prof. Barbara Romanowicz Seismology University of California, Berkeley barbara.romanowicz AT gmail DOT com 7/5-8/10
Prof. David (Dave) Rubie Mineral Physics & Geochemistry Universitat Bayreuth dave.rubie AT uni-bayreuth DOT de 7/15-7/28
Prof. David Stevenson Geodynamics California Institute of Technology djs AT gps DOT caltech DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Prof. Sarah Stewart Planetary Science Harvard University sstewart AT eps DOT harvard DOT edu 7/8-7/29
Prof. Quentin Williams Mineral Physics University of California, Santa Cruz qwilliams AT pmc DOT ucsc DOT edu 7/25-8/5
Prof. Shije Zhong Geodynamics University of Colorado szhong AT colorado DOT edu 7/17-7/21
         
    SR. PARTICIPANTS    
         
Prof. Wang-Ping Chen Seismology University of Illinois wpchen AT uiuc DOT edu 7/15-7/28
Prof. Vernon Cormier Seismology University of Connecticut vernon.cormier AT uconn DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Rebecca Deutscher Evaluator University of California, Berkeley rrdeutscher AT berkeley DOT edu 7/26-7/28 and 8/8-8/10
Prof. Jon Davidson Geochemistry/ Petrology Durham University j.p.davidson AT durham DOT ac DOT uk 7/12-7/18
Dr. Stephen Dye

Geo-neutrinos

Hawaii Pacific University sdye AT hpu DOT edu 7/15-7/28
Prof. Adam Dziewonski Seismology Harvard University dziewons AT eps DOT harvard DOT edu 7/8-7/22
Prof. Matt Jackson Geochemistry Boston University jacksonm AT bu DOT edu 7/7-7/28
Dr. Abby Kavner Mineral Physics University of California, Los Angeles akavner AT ucla DOT edu 7/29-8/4
Dr. Jasper Konter Geochemistry University of Texas at El Paso jgkonter AT utep DOT edu 7/22-8/4
Prof. Dave Stegman Geodynamics, Tectonics University of California, San Diego/ IGPP/ Scripps dr.stegman AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Prof. Jeroen van Hunen Mantle Dynamics, Plate Tectonics, Subduction, Early Earth Years Durham University jeroen.van-hunen AT durham DOT ac DOT uk 7/12-7/18
Prof. Douglas Wiens Seismology Washington University in Saint Louis doug AT wustl DOT edu 7/22-8/3
Dr. Huaiyu Yuan Seismology University of California, Berkeley yuan AT seismo DOT berkeley DOT edu 7/22-8/10
Dr. Kevin Zahnle Geochemistry NASA Ames Research Center Kevin.J.Zahnle AT nasa DOT gov 7/30-8/10
         
    POST DOCS & STUDENTS    
         
Ms. Divya Allupeddinti Geodynamics Arizona State University Divya.Allupeddinti AT asu DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Dr. Maxim Ballmer Geodynamics University of Hawaii ballmer AT hawaii DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Dr. Jamie Barron Seismology Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris barron AT ipgp DOT fr 7/14-8/10
Ms. Elizabeth (Beth Ann) Bell Geochemistry University of California, Los Angeles ebell21 AT ucla DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Mrs. Lea Bello Geodynamics Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon lea DOT bello AT ens-lyon DOT fr 7/15-8/3
Dr. Thomas Bodin University of California, Berkeley thomas DOT bodin AT berkeley DOT edu 7/7-7/21
Mr. Patrick Boehnke Isotopes University of California, Los Angeles pboehnke AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Dr. Pierre Bouilhol Petro-geochemistry Durham University pierrebouilhol AT gmail DOT com 7/14-8/4
Dr. Abigail Bull Geodynamics University of Oslo a.l.bull AT fys DOT uio DOT no 7/15-8/10
Ms. Ana Cernok Mineral Physics Universitat Bayreuth Ana.Cernok AT uni-bayreuth DOT de 7/15-8/2
Mrs. Sanne Cottaar Global Seismology University of California, Berkeley sanne.cottaar AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Dr. Elizabeth Day Seismology Massachusetts Institute of Technology eaday AT mit DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Mrs. Cathleen Doherty Isotope Geochemistry Columbia University, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory cdale AT ldeo DOT columbia DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Ms. Erica Emry Seismology Washington University in Saint Louis ericae AT seismo DOT wustl DOT edu 7/15-8/3
Mr. Zachary (Zack) Geballe Mineral Physics University of California, Berkeley zgeballe AT berkeley DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Mr. Nilotpal Ghosh Element Geochemistry & Radiogenic Isotopes University of Rochester nghosh AT z DOT rochester DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Dr. Timo Heister   Texas A & M heister AT math DOT tamu DOT edu 7/15-8/4
Ms. Stefanie Hempel Seismology University of Muenster Stefanie.Hempel AT wwu DOT de 7/15-8/10
Mr. Yu Huang Geochemistry University of Maryland, College Park yuhuang AT umd DOT edu 7/14-8/11
Mr. Colin Jackson Geochemistry/ Petrology Brown University colin_jackson AT brown DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Mr. Rohan Kundargi Geodynamics Boston University rohan.kundargi@gmail.com 7/15-8/10
Mrs. Marine Lasbleis Geodynamics Ecole Normale Superieur de Lyon marine.lasbleis AT ens-lyon DOT fr 7/14-8/10
Mr. Mingming Li Geodynamics Arizona State University mingming AT asu DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Mr. Jiachao Liu Mineral Physics University of Michigan jiacliu AT umich DOT edu 7/14-8/10
Ms. Xi Liu Geodynamics University of Colorado at Boulder xi.liu AT colorado DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Dr. Valentina Magni Geochemistry Durham University valentina.magni AT durham DOT ac DOT uk 7/14-8/4
Mr. Peter Olds Geochemistry/ Geophysics University of California, Berkeley epolds AT berkeley DOT edu 7/9-8/11
Ms. Elizabeth (Beth) Paulson Deep Structure of Continents/ Mantle Structure University of Southern California empaulso AT usc DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Mr. Clemens Prescher Mineral Physics Universitat Bayreuth clemens.prescher AT uni-bayreuth DOT de 7/15-8/11
Ms. Emma Rainey   University of California, Los Angeles erainey AT ucla DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Mr. Ian Rose Geodynamics University of California, Berkeley ian.rose AT berkeley DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Ms. Yingxia (Crystal) Shi Mineral Physics Stanford University yingxias AT stanford DOT edu 7/14-8/5
Dr. Ondrej Sramek Geodynamics University of Maryland sramek AT umd DOT edu 7/15-8/3
Mr. Jonathan Tucker Geochemistry Harvard University jtucker AT fas DOT harvard DOT edu 7/15-8/11
Ms. Martina Ulvrova Geophysics Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon mulvrova AT gmail DOT com 7/14-8/10
Mr. Cayman Unterborn Planetary Science/ Mineral Physics The Ohio State University kmanunterborn AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Ms. Yang Wang Earthquake Seismology The University of Texas at Austin yangwang198510 AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/4
Mr. Matthew Wielicki Geochemistry University of California, Los Angeles mwielicki AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Mr. Curtis Williams Geochemistry Arizona State University Curtis.Williams AT asu DOT edu 7/15-8/4
Ms Lingling Ye   University of California, Santa Cruz lye2 AT ucsc DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Dr. Mohammad Youssof Seismology Rice University mys1 AT rice DOT edu 7/15-8/10
Mr. Han (John) Yue   University of California, Santa Cruz johnyuehan2003 AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/10
Ms. Hongluo Zhang Mineral Physics University of Minnesota zhan1442 AT umn DOT edu 7/14-8/11
Dr. Leah Ziegler Geomagnetism Oregon State University lbziegler AT gmail DOT com 7/15-8/4

This page last modified Monday July 23, 2012

*****************************************************************************************


CIDER is funded through the NSF/FESD program

For inquiries and practical questions, contact Micaelee Ellswythe (micaele AT berkeley DOT edu).

For questions on the scientific program, contact Barbara Romanowicz, (barbara AT seismo DOT berkeley DOT edu).

Return to CIDER Overview